Russia – a country that is built upon intolerance

Posted on February 27, 2012

0


I am not a homosexual, but I Love Love. Therefore, my mission in life is to do my best to make people enjoy love. Love between any human being that is heterosexual, homosexual, transsexual and more. For me, love means more than my family’s honor, money and the way the society look at me. Luckily, my state and my family is supporting me in follow that path of love. Unfortunately, this is something that the government of Russia ignore or do not support.

The Russian government is at the moment letting regions in their great country discriminate people who is using their undeniable right to love whomever they want. St. Petersburg is the 5th region that is on their way to institute a homophobic law. The law is prohibiting propaganda for homosexuality and pedophilia to minors, which indirectly could mean that anyone that is demonstrating for their LGBTQ-rights can be arrested, fined or get a prison-sentence. In the long run it can also mean that human rights-activists supporting the gay community of Russia is in great danger of being imprisoned as well. This development in Russia through the human rights perspective is not worthy a democracy, which is obliged to be non-discriminatory.

Therefore, I would like to ask you to take action against the Russian government’s indifference to the regions homophobic laws.

Send the message down below to the Russian ambassador in your country
or in Sweden rusembassy@telia.com. Tweet this message to President Medvedev: @HumanRights666, #Russia-a country built upon intolerance? Take Action! http://wp.me/pX1rm-a8 #HumanRights @MedvedevRussia

Dear Ambassador,

It is with great concern that I contact You. It has come to my knowledge that regions in Your beloved Russia has constituted and is trying to constitute laws that indirectly discriminate human beings living as homosexuals, queer and transsexuals.
The law is prohibiting propaganda for homosexuality and pedophilia to minors, which indirectly could mean that anyone that is demonstrating for their LGBTQ-rights can be arrested, fined or get a prison-sentence.

This discriminative action is a violation against international law, which also, in the long run, can lead to problems for human rights defenders as well.

Therefore, I would like to urge the Government of Russia to:
Stop the regions from implementing these laws;
Tell the regions that already have implemented these laws to revoke them;
Let LGBTQ persons to enjoy their undeniable right to love whomever they want.

Yours Sincerely,