Appeal for Iranian Union leaders.

Posted on June 19, 2010

0


Dear Fighter for Human Rights!

I can only imagine the trouble of being a fighter for freedom in Iran today. But I can try to understand and I can try to make a difference. In the same breath, I would like to ask You to do the same for Our fellow fighters for freedom in Iran, by sending the letter down below to: avaei@Dadgostary-tehran.ir

I greet You in advance and I wish You a pleasant weekend!

Your Excellency,

As a defender of human rights, I am concerned about the safety of Saeed Torabian and Reza Shahabi, leading members of a trade union. They have been arrested and are held at unknown locations. Their arrests may be connected to the anniversary of the disputed 2009 presidential election, which fell on 12 June. The two detained men are at risk of torture or other ill-treatment.

Therefore:
I urge the Iranian authorities to immediately disclose the whereabouts of Saeed Torabian and Reza Shahabi .

I would like to make the Iranian authorities aware that they have to release them if they are held solely for their peaceful trade union activities. I believe that both men are very likely to be prisoners of conscience.

I also urge the authorities to ensure that the two men are protected from torture or other ill-treatment while in custody, and that they are granted immediate access to their families, to lawyers of their choice, and to adequate medical care.

Yours respectfully,

Posted in: Uncategorized